Mark McGwire Looking Back

11 01 2010

Mark McGwire admits steroid use – MLB – SI.com.

My first thought, I don’t care.  Watching McGwire and Sammy Sosa going at it that one season was a blast.  Did we all know they were cheating?  Of course we did.  Didn’t matter – it was still a blast (pardon the pun) to watch.

Anyway, in order to protect my normal level of snark, I guess it was about time you fessed up, huh Mark?  So can we talk about the past now?

During his testimony on March 17, 2005, McGwire declined to answer questions under oath when he appeared before the House Government Reform Committee. In a tearful opening statement McGwire said,

Asking me or any other player to answer questions about who took steroids in front of television cameras will not solve the problem. If a player answers ‘No,’ he simply will not be believed; if he answers ‘Yes,’ he risks public scorn and endless government investigations…. My lawyers have advised me that I cannot answer these questions without jeopardizing my friends, my family, and myself. I will say, however, that it remains a fact in this country that a man, any man, should be regarded as innocent unless proven guilty.”[16]

When asked by Representative Elijah Cummings if he was asserting his Fifth Amendment right not to incriminate himself, McGwire once again responded:

I’m not here to talk about the past. I’m here to be positive about this subject.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_McGwire

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

